Jim Stai

Jim Stai


After 10 years of teaching business at Lake Region Jr. College, Jim joined the U.S Small Business Adminsitration (SBA) and served as the Business Development Specialist, Assistant Director for Business Development, and North Dakota District Director before retirement. He then spent a semester back in the classroom teaching business at the University of North Dakota.

First Elected – 2015
Lori Gabriel

Lori Gabriel

Commercial Loan Officer, Bank of North Dakota – Bismarck, ND

Lori has experience with loan workout situations, and she has worked with both agricultural and commercial lending clients. Lori understands the value of economic development programs for the benefit of small business owners and community improvement.

First Elected – 2012

John Phillips

Retired, City of Beulah – Beulah, ND

With almost 30 years in housing and city planning, John is currently retired and is active with many organizations including the Beulah JFA, Mercer Economic Development, Coal Conversion Counties, ND Association of Oil and Gas Producing Counties, Lignite Energy Research Council, the ND Chamber of Commerce, and church council.

First Elected – 2008

Andy Maragos

Representative, North Dakota House – Minot, ND

With 50 years of business ownership experience, Andy has served in roles with the Travel Connection Center and the National Railroad Passenger Corporation and was recognized for outstanding service by this organization. Andy is currently on the board for Prairie Public Broadcasting and the Consensus Council, and has been in the North Dakota legislature for over 20 years.

First Elected – 2013

Marlowe Johnson

Retired VP of Customer Service, Otter Tail Power, Co – Ottertail, MN

Marlowe has spent over 40 years with various economic development groups and community boards including, among others, the North Dakota Department of Commerce Foundation and 4-H. While employed at Ottertail Power Company he helped deliver the economic development grant program that was highly praised by the North Dakota Public Service Commission.

First Elected – 1997
Rich Becker

Rich Becker

President, Becker Marketing Consultants – Grand Forks, ND

With over 40 years of marketing and management experience in the oil & gas industry, Rich has served on the boards for, among others, the UND Alumni Association, Prairie Public Broadcasting, The Grand Forks/ East Grand Forks Chamber of Commerce, the Grand Forks Regional Airport Authority, Youth for Christ, and the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Board.

First Elected – 2014
Dan Jacobson

Dan Jacobson

Chief Lending Officer, Alerus Financial – Fargo, ND

Dan has an extensive background in credit management and commercial banking. He has served in leadership roles with various local organizations including the RMA North Central Chapter, Rotary, the American Heart Association, youth hockey, and his church council.

First Elected – 2014

Mike Connor

Retired, Retail Merchandising, Former Business Owner, Banking – Starkweather, ND

Having worked in retail merchandising management, credit and collections, banking, and with government agencies, Mike has served on the boards of various local, state, and regional organizations. He is currently on the board for Senior Meals & Services, North Central Regional Planning Council, Sons of Jacob Community Committee, and the Devils Lake Area Foundation.

First Elected – 2002

Jim Hambrick

SVP Business Banker – Carrington, ND

With over 28 years of experience in the banking industry, Jim has focused on relationship management for small to large sized operating businesses. He also serves on the board of directors for NDSU Team Makers and NDSU Alumni Association, and has been involved in local community non-profits such as Red Cross, United Way, and Fraser, Ltd.

First Elected – 2016